Skip to main content
Books From the Source

About Books From the Source

From the Berkley, Dutton, and Putnam imprints of Penguin Random House, Books From the Source is a monthly newsletter curated for book clubs, featuring discussable books alongside special content to help inspire dynamic discussions. Sign up below to start receiving great book recommendations, giveaway offers, and more!

Staff Picks

The teams at Berkley, Dutton, and Putnam want to share their favorite books with you! Check out some of our staff picks for your next book club:

Blush by Jamie Brenner

Blush

Jamie Brenner

From acclaimed author Jamie Brenner comes a stunning new novel about three generations of women who discover that the scandalous books of their past may just be the key to saving their family’s future.

Book Club Kit

The Woman at the Front by Lecia Cornwall

The Woman at the Front

Lecia Cornwall

A daring young woman risks everything to pursue a career as a doctor on the front lines in France during World War I, and learns the true meaning of hope, love, and resilience in the darkest of times.

Book Club Kit

The Paris Connection by Lorraine Brown

The Paris Connection

Lorraine Brown

In this witty and heartfelt debut love story for fans of Josie Silver’s One Day in December, a woman stranded in Paris for the day discovers that the wrong road can sometimes lead us in the right direction.

Book Club Kit

At Least You Have Your Health by Madi Sinha

At Least You Have Your Health

Madi Sinha

Behind the chic veneer of a wellness clinic lies a dangerous secret, in this compelling women’s fiction novel from the author of The White Coat Diaries.

Book Club Kit

What Happened to the Bennetts by Lisa Scottoline

What Happened to the Bennetts

Lisa Scottoline

From #1 bestselling author Lisa Scottoline comes a pulse-pounding new novel.

Book Club Kit

Portrait of a Thief by Grace D. Li

Portrait of a Thief

Grace D. Li

Ocean’s Eleven meets The Farewell in Portrait of a Thief, a lush, lyrical heist novel inspired by the true story of Chinese art vanishing from Western museums; about diaspora, the colonization of art, and the complexity of the Chinese American identity.

Book Club Kit

Sisters of Night and Fog by Erika Robuck

Sisters of Night and Fog

Erika Robuck

A heart-stopping new novel based on the extraordinary true stories of an American socialite and a British secret agent whose stunning acts of courage collide in the darkest hours of World War II.

Book Club Kit

Scarlet in Blue by Jennifer Murphy

Scarlet in Blue

Jennifer Murphy

A beautiful and gripping psychological novel about a mother and daughter who, after a lifetime on the run from a dark and dangerous past, land in a small Michigan town that may hold the key to ending their fugitive lifestyle.

Book Club Kit

Love & Saffron by Kim Fay

Love & Saffron

Kim Fay

In the vein of the classic 84, Charing Cross Road, this witty and tender novel follows two women in 1960s America as they discover that food really does connect us all, and that friendship and laughter are the best medicine.

Book Club Kit

More Book Club Picks

Looking for something a little different? Below are some great reads for book clubs for your consideration.

The Last Chance Library by Freya Sampson

The Last Chance Library

Freya Sampson

June Jones emerges from her shell to fight for her beloved local library, and through the efforts and support of an eclectic group of library patrons, she discovers life-changing friendships along the way.

When We Fell Apart by Soon Wiley

When We Fell Apart

Soon Wiley

A profoundly moving and suspenseful drama that untangles the complicated ties that bind families together—or break them apart—as a young Korean American man’s search for answers about his girlfriend’s mysterious death becomes a soul-searching journey into his own bi-cultural identity

The Fervor by Alma Katsu

The Fervor

Alma Katsu

The acclaimed author of the celebrated literary horror novels The Hunger and The Deep turns her psychological and supernatural eye on the horrors of the Japanese American internment camps in World War II.

Housebreaking by Colleen Hubbard

Housebreaking

Colleen Hubbard

Following a long-standing feud and looking to settle the score, a woman decides to dismantle her home—alone and by hand—and move it across a frozen pond during a harsh New England winter in this mesmerizing debut.

What the Fireflies Knew by Kai Harris

What the Fireflies Knew

Kai Harris

In the vein of Jesmyn Ward’s Salvage the Bones and Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, a coming-of-age novel told by almost-eleven-year-old Kenyatta Bernice (KB), as she and her sister try to make sense of their new life with their estranged grandfather in the wake of their father’s death and their mother’s disappearance.

Take My Hand by Dolen Perkins-Valdez

Take My Hand

Dolen Perkins-Valdez

A searing and compassionate new novel about a young Black nurse’s shocking discovery and burning quest for justice in post-segregation Alabama, from the New York Times bestselling author of Wench.

Let Us Help You Book Club

Looking to find your book club’s next read? Maybe discussion questions for your next meeting? Or are you just looking for more behind-the-scenes information from your favorite authors? Check out our past book club kits for all of the above and more to create the perfect book club meeting here!

Sign up!

Sign me up for news from Books from the Source.
And also:

By clicking Sign Up, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Back to top